Platform by Michael Hyatt

hyattMichael Hyatt knows what he is talking about.

I just finished his 2012 book Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World. It is a step-by-step guide to building a platform. Literally, if you are looking to get noticed, build a business, start a new brand, or market some existing entity, there is no good reason for you not to own this book.

The book is an extremely easy read. It is practical in nature. You’re not going to get hypothetical philosophizing of any sort. Hyatt has a purpose and an audience in mind, and he doesn’t mess around cutting to the chase. The chapters are really mini-blogs, 60 total. They all have clear action steps and applicable guidelines. There is an aspect to this book that is almost idiot-proof. If you just read the chapter and implement his counsel, I think you’ll be on your way to meeting your goals.

That is, if building a platform is your goal. I admit I read the book mainly because I was curious. In the last 6 months I have started inching my way toward finishing a manuscript, and I picked up one of Hyatt’s e-books to help. He is the former CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishing, one of the largest Christian publishing houses in the world. Platform gave some really good practical advice that helped hone my thinking on content creation and publishing.

I think this book is a great read for those just coming out of college, or for someone who is an entrepreneur or inventor. If you want to build a brand or market an existing product, this book is great. Also, I do think Hyatt gives great advice from which pastors and church leaders can learn. We’re not in a business selling a product, but we do have a message (the gospel) that we want to get out to the world.

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Platform by Michael Hyatt

  1. soulstuck1 says:

    I’m reading this book right now as well. Just relaunched a blog walking through his suggestions. Great stuff! Thanks for the review.

  2. Pingback: Platform by Michael Hyatt

  3. Tim Lyon says:

    Got this on audible per your recommendation and listened to it during my travels. Good stuff bro. I feel like I’m getting a sneak peek behind LPC media.

Leave a Reply

