The Soundtrack of Ecclesiastes

Some books of the Bible seem to have a soundtrack. As a Music Pastor, I’m always looking for songs that portray the truths of the Scriptures that we’re exploring each Sunday. Sometimes it’s impossible… sometimes it’s a stretch… but every once in awhile, there will be a text that just, well, seems to have a soundtrack.

Ecclesiastes is one of those books. Thematically, there are so many great songs written about the vanity of this life, the sovereignty of God, and our proper response to whatever life throws at us. Here are a few songs that have been helpful to our church community as we’ve studied Ecclesiastes, as well as links to buy them, and a few lyrics:

Vapor by The Liturgists
Buy on iTunes

Oh the vapor of it all, it’s a chasing of the wind
The powers of the earth so pale and thin
We will set our hearts on you again…
…Holy, You oh God are Holy, trees clap their hands for you
Oceans they dance for you, You are holy

I Will Follow by Vertical Church Band
Buy on iTunes

When I see the wicked prospering
When I feel I have no voice to sing
Even in the want, I’ll follow You
I believe everything that You say You are
I believe that I have seen Your unchanging heart
In the good things and in the hardest part
I believe and I will follow You

Home by Robbie Seay Band
Buy on iTunes

Don’t wanna live for the rich
Don’t wanna live for me
A rich man who’s come here to confess my sin
Don’t wanna live for the politics
Politics of man
For the hope we seek is never found in the politicians
I wanna live for the King

Though You Slay Me by Shane & ShaneBuy on iTunes

Though You slay me
Yet I will praise You
Though You take from me
I will bless Your name
Though You ruin me
Still I will worship
Sing a song to the One who’s all I need

Slow Me Down by Robbie Seay Band
Buy on iTunes

Slow me down, O Lord
Slow me down
Help my heart to hear Your sound
Speak into my life
Lord speak now
Slow me down, O Lord

About tylerclarensau

Tyler is the Music/Arts Pastor of LPCVAN, a writer and songwriter, and a loyal 'til death fan of the Kansas City Royals. He spends his days exploring the Northwest with his wife Katie and his daughters, Molly Jayne and Lennon Mae.
This entry was posted in 2theSource. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

