LPCVAN MUSIC: Five Records To Tell Your Friends About

I love music. I love writing it, I love listening to it, and I love discovering it. As a Music Pastor, much of my week is spent sitting between two speakers and letting a song hit my face in stereo.

Here at LifePoint, much of the music we do comes from artists who are off the beaten path. After a Sunday morning gathering, I’m often asked “where can I find that song?” I usually point people to our SPOTIFY PLAYLIST, where I put all the songs we do on Sundays. But today, I want to give you five records to check out that will expand your iTunes library beyond what you’ll find on the radio.

King’s Kaleidoscope: Becoming Who We Are
FAVORITE TRACK: I Know
FUN FACT: This 10 member band (yes, TEN) contains two drummers, a trombone, a flute, and an accordion.
LISTEN TO IT: on a sunny day with the windows down.

Josh Garrels: Home
FAVORITE TRACK: Born Again
FUN FACT: Josh, who hails from right here in Portland, has made this record free at noisetrade.com/joshgarrels.
LISTEN TO IT: in your earbuds as you trek through the trails of Forest Park.

Pacific Gold: Sing My Welcome Home
FAVORITE TRACK: I Will Know Him
FUN FACT: This entire record is comprised of hymns that the band had never heard before they recreated the music and melodies.
LISTEN TO IT: alongside their podcast (also titled Sing My Welcome Home), where they break down the writing and recording of each song on the record.

Dustin Kensrue: The Water & The Blood
FAVORITE TRACK: It’s Not Enough
FUN FACT: Dustin, who was recently a Music Pastor at Mars Hill Church in Seattle, is also the singer of the rock band Thrice.
LISTEN TO IT: on your commute to work, preferably right after you listen to a John Piper sermon.

A Jesus Church: Carry Your Name
FAVORITE TRACK: All Your People Sing
FUN FACT: A Jesus Church is located just over the bridge in Portland and is one of the founding churches of SEVEN, a prayer gathering that LifePoint participates in every autumn.
LISTEN TO IT: as the soundtrack to your every day life. (Yes, it’s really that good.)

I could go on for hours, but that’ll keep you busy for now. What are you listening to these days?

About tylerclarensau

Tyler is the Music/Arts Pastor of LPCVAN, a writer and songwriter, and a loyal 'til death fan of the Kansas City Royals. He spends his days exploring the Northwest with his wife Katie and his daughters, Molly Jayne and Lennon Mae.
This entry was posted in music, Worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to LPCVAN MUSIC: Five Records To Tell Your Friends About

  1. Brent Kimball says:

    Thanks for these recommendations Tyler. Your style broadens my horizons.

  2. Angela Howard says:

    Thanks Tyler! I appreciate the suggestions. I’ll be sharing these with Ben and Emily too 😃

  3. Drew Gallant says:

    So are these all christian/worship?

  4. Bo Lane says:

    Those are all great suggestions. I specifically love Dustin Kensrue’s album. The entire album is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

