As Long As (by Brent Kimball)

“As Long As” – Reflection on Uzziah (2 Chronicles 26)

Uzziah, who was only 16 years old when he became king of the southern kingdom, has always intrigued me. He was one of the longest reigning kings of Judah and during his reign Judah was safe and prosperous. The commentary on his life is that “he did what was right in the eyes of the LORD…” (2 Chronicles 26:4). Yet, the progression of his life is sad. Notice this; this same chapter notes that Uzziah set himself to seek God and that he was instructed by Zechariah in the fear of God. And it says, “As long as he sought the LORD, God made him prosper (verse 5). Later in the chapter it reads that he was “marvelously helped, till he was strong” (verse 15).

THEN IT HAPPENS (verse 16) – “But when he was strong, he grew proud, to his destruction. For he was unfaithful to the LORD his God…” He began as a young man seeking God and God helped him in his life and leadership. With God’s help he became strong and prosperous. When he got strong he became prideful. When he became prideful he was unfaithful and it cost him dearly. What are we to make of this? We want to do what is right in the eyes of the LORD. We want to seek God. As we seek God surely he will make us strong, but then what? In our strength will we maintain humility and our dependence on the Lord or will be become prideful? I think I am willing to pray, “Lord, if I being strong will lead to me being prideful then please keep me weak; if in my weakness I will be faithful to you” (2 Cor. 12:7-9).

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in 2theSource, Leadership and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to As Long As (by Brent Kimball)

  1. A good reminder that we all need God’s grace to remain in a place of humility. It’s not a one time decision but a constant surrender. Thank you!

  2. asenath41 says:

    The topic of staying humble before God is so important to understand the importance of it. 1Peter 5:5&6 “God resists the proud…But gives grace to the humble.” “Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time”.

  3. deangoffjr says:

    Pride and arrogance is it costly and dangerous. Both have a unique way of disguising themselves. Sometimes we cannot see it, because we are so close to it, that even in plain view we cannot see it. That is why we as men, and woman for that matter, need others in our lives that can see things in us that we are not able to see in ourselves. These issue have brought me much tragedy and grief in my own life. And I have to pay close attention it, or it will attempt to make me God in my own heart, instead of allowing God to remain Lord in every area of my life. I have recently become part of a mentoring program at LPC, and believe me, I know I need it. And the beautiful thing about it is, its okay to say that I am not okay all the time.

Leave a Reply

