Crazy Busy by Kevin DeYoung

crazy-busyI know how busy you are. I am that busy as well. If, in all your busyness you can find time to read a book about being busy, I have just the book. It’s called Crazy Busy and it is “a mercifully short book about a really big problem.” It was written by Kevin DeYoung, one of my favorite authors. This was the book of the month for my Men of LifePoint group, which is filled with busy guys just like me.

This book was just what I needed to pull my head above the water of my busyness and focus me on just ONE thing that I need to do to live with my feet on solid ground. There are several reasons this book hit the spot for me. It was short. It was funny. It was practical. It was written by a guy who is busier than me, and was willing to admit that he struggles with busyness as much as anyone else. It had answers without claiming to have all the answers. It was authentic and transparent. It spoke a language I could understand.

The book has a really simple structure. DeYoung gives us 3 dangers to avoid, 7 diagnoses for why we are so busy, and 1 thing that we must do. This outline made the book really readable. I think this book is probably best read in one or two sittings. It’s short enough that even if you are a slow reader, you can probably get through it in less than 4 hours.

Here are the 3 dangers to avoid:

1) Busyness can ruin our joy.
2) Busyness can rob our hearts.
3) Busyness can cover up the rot in our souls.

Here are the 7 diagnoses:

1) You are beset with many manifestations of pride (this is a great chapter that outlines “the Killer P’s” that lead to busyness).
2) You are trying to do what God does not expect you to do.
3) You can’t serve others without setting priorities.
4) You need to stop freaking out about  your kids.
5) You are letting the screen strangle your soul.
6) You’d better rest yourself before your wreck yourself.
7) You suffer more because you don’t expect to suffer at all.

The one thing you must do is detailed in the final chapter, and I’ll let you pick up the book to discover what he says about that.

As I said, this book hit home for me. Everything DeYoung writes (blogs or books) seems to speak to me loud and clear. Rick Warren said “You can’t afford to miss what DeYoung says here in Crazy Busy.” I agree. I know you’re too busy to read a book right now, but if you take a few hours to pound through this one I think your perspective will change, your life will be enriched, and you’ll get your feet set a little firmer on  the gospel of Jesus Christ.

 

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Discipleship, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

