Financial Wisdom from The Richest (and Wisest) Man Ever

Solomon was a rich man. First Kings 10 details the wisdom and wealth of David’s son. The Queen of Sheba (who was probably fairly well-off herself) came and visited Solomon, and the Bible says “there was no more breath in her.” Witnessing the life of this man who is known to history as the wisest and wealthiest of all time literally took her breath away.

1 Kings 10:6-7 And she said to the king, “The report was true that I heard in my own land of your words and of your wisdom, but I did not believe the reports until I came and my own eyes had seen it. And behold, the half was not told me. Your wisdom and prosperity surpass the report that I heard.

He didn’t live a perfect life in any sense (as Jesus did), but among Solomon’s many contributions to the history of God’s people is the book of Proverbs. It contains practical wisdom inspired by God and written down by a man who was literally an expert on the subject of money. In week two of our series From Him and Through Him and To Him (this Sunday at LifePoint) we will study the issue of how we handle our money from the book of Proverbs.

Heading into my preparation for this week I was very sure I would find a good amount of financial wisdom in the book of Proverbs. Though I have formerly preached through the book, I have never attempted to sit down and comprehensively chronicle everything it says about money (particularly with a mind toward summarizing it all in one sermon). I knew Proverbs addressed topics like wealth, poverty, work ethic, and generosity. But as I really started digging through the texts on this subject I was blown away. There are at least 100 proverbs in the book that refer directly to money or material possessions, and nearly twice that many that approach the subject in some form. The book is cascading with biblical wisdom on how we deal with our finances.

We could probably spend about a year studying what Proverbs has to say about how we attain, manage, and utilize our money. However, we’re going to try to tackle it in one week. While we won’t be able to dig deeply into every single verse, we will be able to paint some broad brush strokes of the mega-themes Proverbs contains on the topic. It will be a different type of sermon, but I believe it will be a productive and engaging look at the issue.

Hopefully you can make it to LifePoint this Sunday. If not, you can always access our sermons through our website or the free LifePoint Church App.

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in 2theSource, Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

