He Talks to Me in ‘My Thinks’

My wife and I have three little girls, ages 5, 4, and 1 (our third turns 1 this week). As many of you can attest, being a parent is a journey filled with such a massive range of experiences and emotions that at times it is hard even to describe. All three of our girls are so different in terms of personality and passion. It is amazing to watch them grow and to encounter each season with them. They never cease to surprise us.

Carissa and I talk a lot about our girls. We find ourselves, even daily, dreaming out loud about who they are or what they will become. We obviously have highs and lows on the journey, like everyone else. Many times our discussions involve the latest discipline issue or new phase of life that we are navigating through with them. Through it all we always seem to come back to one major thought and prayer for each one of their lives. No matter who or what or when or how, our primary passion, prayer, and motivation in parenting is that each of our girls would love and serve Jesus with their whole hearts and lives.

In light of this, we work hard to build a culture in our home where we pray constantly, read the Bible daily, and where God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are consistently “in the narrative.” Day by day, particularly when we are going through the latest discipline issue or discouraging phase, it can be easy to lose track of the big picture. Are they loving and serving Jesus?

At other times they will say or do something that just blows our minds and sparks praise in us for God’s amazing grace and provision. Today was one of these days.

Sophia, our four-year-old, is a super sensitive little girl. We have seen her really develop in the last several weeks as her older sister Olivia has started school and been out of the house for Kindergarten each weekday. Sophi is one of the most inquisitive little humans you will ever meet. Some of it is the fact that she’s 4, but it is also a part of her personality to just ask a million questions a minute. She really loves Jesus and loves talking about God. She is the first one to pray for healing when she or anyone around her gets sick or hurt. Even through tears at times, when she’ll scrape herself or fall down and get hurt, she will call out to God, “Jesus, my leg hurts! Please heal my leg.” She is quick to give praise as well. When a cut heals she will run up to me and announce, “God did it! God healed my owwie!”

I got a text from Carissa today telling me about a conversation she was having with Sophi this afternoon.

Sophia: “Mom, does God talk to you in your ‘thinks’?”

Carissa: “Yes, He does. Why?”

Sophia: “Because He just talked to me.” (Her eyes welling up with tears).

Carissa: “That’s great Sophi. What does God say to you when he talks to you.”

Sophia: “He talked to me in my thinks while I was in my room while I was sleeping. He told me I don’t need to be afraid of anything in my closet.”

Does God talk to you in your “thinks?”

This conversation between Sophi and Carissa reminded me of Romans 8.

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God…
Romans 8:14-17 

Your fears and anxieties may look different than my 4-year old daughter’s do. I know mine do. But the same Spirit who “talks to her in her ‘thinks’” talks to you and I if we are children of God through faith in Jesus Christ.

That’s an awesome reality, isn’t it?

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in 2theSource, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to He Talks to Me in ‘My Thinks’

  1. Mendi Yoshikawa says:

    This IS awesome! Such a sweet story and one I can apply to so many instances in my own life. 😉

    • Thanks Mendi- it’s amazing how God works by his grace in our kids. It reminds me we always have to end at the place where we trust him with them. They’re his kids even before they are our kids…

  2. Marcy Connett says:

    This post was so very timely for me today…thanks for taking the time to share it. Romans 8 is so powerful. Love it!

  3. Nannette M Myers says:

    How awesome it is that the little children will lead us back to him. Bless you Sophia. Keep listening to His Spirit. He will never lead you astray.

Leave a Reply

