Surge Prayer: Thursday – Amazing Grace

…and forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.” For if you forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you, but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

Lord, where do we even begin. You are the God who has intervened in our situation.  When we were living for ourselves, completely ignoring you and uninterested in you, you made it possible for us to be reconciled to you through Jesus.  Thank you that through Christ our sins have been forgiven! Thank you that you do not treat me the way my iniquity really deserves to be treated! Thank you for your amazing grace; you have removed the sin that separated us. 

Lord, even though you removed all of my sins and brought me into fellowship with you, I have to confess that I still sin. You know this! So I come to you humbly, sorrowful for what I have done.  Sometimes I forget that you have saved me for a holy life.  You have given me your Spirit to train me to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions and to live a self-controlled, upright, and godly life (Titus 2:12).  So God forgive me for not partnering with your Spirit. Forgive me for sinning against you and for letting down those who depend on me.  Thank you for restoring me! Thanks for your grace and for loving me unconditionally.  I love you and don’t want to sin against you. Help me to sin no more.

Lord help me to never forget how much grace you have given me. I want to be a grace giver.  When people sin against me, may my grace, kindness, and unconditional love be a living example of what you have done for me through Jesus. May I never be like the ungrateful servant who received much grace and gave none away. 

  • Thank Him for his amazing grace.
  • Ask God to help you see opportunities to give grace rather than give people what they deserve.
  • Pray that God would help us be better at abstaining from sin. May his kindness lead us to repentance rather than habitual sin.

Image

About Sam Cassese

Follower of Jesus, husband of the beautiful Jordann Destiny, father of Micah, Pastor at the wonderful community of LifePoint, and die hard fan of the Philadelphia Eagles & the New York Mets.
This entry was posted in 2theSource and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

