Surge Prayer: Friday – Temptations

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.”

Lord, I find myself daily in circumstances that tempt me to sin.  God, I know that the testing of my faith and temptations can build my faith.  But Lord I also know that greater men than I have found themselves in tempting situations and have failed!  

So God I would never pray to be tempted so that I can grow; rather please keep me from such situations!  Deliver me from temptation, which can make obedience more difficult and many times even results in sin.  Lord I don’t look forward to temptation.  I don’t look at it as an exciting challenge to be conquered, the way a bull-rider sees a bull.  I see it the way a little child looks at a rattle snake.  Lord this thing can kill me!  Father, I want nothing to do with sin.  Please keep me.

Lead us not into temptation. But when I do find myself there, please keep me from sinning against you.  May my speech be pure, seasoned with salt and giving grace to all who hear me.  May my thoughts be godly, meditating on whatever is pure, lovely, and commendable. Keep my eyes on you, on your Word, and on my wife. May my actions be Christ-like, loving others as you have loved.  Help me to live a life completely honoring to you.

We pray this all in the name of Jesus,

Amen!

Image

About Sam Cassese

Follower of Jesus, husband of the beautiful Jordann Destiny, father of Micah, Pastor at the wonderful community of LifePoint, and die hard fan of the Philadelphia Eagles & the New York Mets.
This entry was posted in 2theSource and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

