Surge Prayer: Tuesday – God Knows Best

 

“Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven…”

Lord, today I want to pray, not to tell you what I think should be done.  I don’t come to ask you to work in the ways that I deem best.  I come with no recommendations or plans of my own.  I actually am asking you to help me lay those down.  Instead of asking you that my will be done, I ask you that your will be done.

 Help me accept your doings even when I (foolishly) think I know a better way.  Help me to trust you and your sovereign plan. Help my finite mind to understand that you are perfect and you know best.  Bring my heart to a place where I can bring my prayers and petitions to you, but in the end still say, “Do what you deem best, for surely you alone know!”

I know that you are good, you are loving, you are all knowing and wise.  I know that you created the universe and all that is in them.  I know that you work everything together for the good of those who love you.  Help me to not lost sight of this, even when situations happen that cause me to say, “How can any good come from this?” I know that you are always at work, advancing your kingdom and your mission to redeem humanity.  So Lord I trust you and pray, “No mine, but may your glorious and wonderful will be done!”  

  • Pray that God would make us mission-centered so that our prayers would not only revolve around our own concerns.  May our prayer life reflect a fresh desire and passion for God’s work to be done on this earth.
  • Pray for the constant advancement of God’s mission in this world. It needs an intervention that only He can give it.  Thank Him that He continues to redeem lost humanity by opening their eyes to understand what Jesus did for us.
  • Pray that God would help us see where we can put hands and feet to our prayers.  “Lord how can we advance your mission and contribute to spreading the fame and message of Jesus Christ?” Thank him for the amazing privilege of partnering with Him in His mission. 
  • Pray that God would remove obstacles that stand in the way of us advancing His mission and kingdom. Ask for strength to persevere when it gets difficult. 

Image

About Sam Cassese

Follower of Jesus, husband of the beautiful Jordann Destiny, father of Micah, Pastor at the wonderful community of LifePoint, and die hard fan of the Philadelphia Eagles & the New York Mets.
This entry was posted in 2theSource and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

