The Simplicity of Surrender

Every once in a while things get busy.  I mean, life is usually pretty busy, but sometimes there’s a busyness that affects my mind and makes things cloudy.  I’m talking about the kind of busyness that seems to loom over my head and causes me to lose perspective as everything becomes a giant push just to get things done.  In these times, I find that I am not very reflective or self-aware; I just become a doing machine that says, “You can think later, just do something!”  

 

Then God in his wonderful grace has a way of bringing a timely word or notion that pierces through my grey, cloudy task-trance with a beam of bright perspective.  This morning that word was “Surrender.”  As I am reading through a great book called “Thirsting for God,” by Gary L. Thomas, the Lord brought my racing mind to a calm sigh of relief and reminded me that I can summarize all my efforts under a single and simple task: Surrender to God. 

 

My task list hans’t gotten shorter nor has my homework disappeared, but with such a perspective my to-do’s cease being a menacing mass of meaningless motions.  They are wonderfully redefined as my efforts to simply do the one thing that is necessary: Surrender my will to God’s.  They are not efforts to accomplish my will and be successful, but to die to my own desires and ambitions and be surrendered. 

 

With this simple purpose statement, God has once again been faithful to guide me and remind what this whole life is about.  I desire not to be a man in meaningless motion, but I desire to be a man “who lives no longer to his own will, or the way and spirit of the world, but to the sole will of God, who considers God in everything, who serves God in everything, who makes all the parts of his common life parts of piety by doing everything in the name of God and under such rules as are conformable to His glory.”

 

May our prayers echo those of Jesus:

 

“Your kingdom come, your will be done,” Matthew 6:10

“Not what I will, but what you will.” Mark 14:36

 

About Sam Cassese

Follower of Jesus, husband of the beautiful Jordann Destiny, father of Micah, Pastor at the wonderful community of LifePoint, and die hard fan of the Philadelphia Eagles & the New York Mets.
This entry was posted in 2theSource and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Simplicity of Surrender

  1. Sam, that is the cry of my heart! Sometimes it feels I am eon’s away from surrender but, praise be to my Father he is faithful to pop me in the head and say “over here son”. Those moments flood my spirit with tears of affection knowing He takes the time to check my lateral movement and bring me back on to the path He set my feet on. Sam I want to say thank you for all the time you spend making sure the people God has given you are doing the best they can with the resources available to them. Thank you.

  2. Marcy Connett says:

    Wow…this is so timely for me today! Thank you for taking time out of your busyness to write this.

  3. huski10 says:

    Your first paragraph is pretty much a description of my life lately 😉 haha. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Eric Demmitt says:

    Wow, Bro, I Love how you just “bring it”! The more I get to know you, the more I’m made aware of your Amazing giftings and how Blessed we at LPC are to have you and Jordann serving and leading our Body.
    God Bless You, Bro; thanks so much for sharing with us what He’s put on your heart–it’s truly an encouragement!!

Leave a Reply

