The Last Battle

I have formed a new habit in my reading ventures.  I’ve traditionally been a non-fiction guy.  Over the last 6 years since graduating from seminary (at which point I was liberated to start reading what I wanted to read), my reading has stayed pretty narrowly aligned to subjects related to my vocational calling.  Until the last year or so I was reading books on theology, leadership, pastoral ministry, spiritual disciplines, and apologetics almost exclusively.  I would depart from these subjects occasionally for a good biography, but that was about it.  I never felt like I had time to read fiction.  My thought was that it would be a waste of the little valuable reading time I had.  Sometime in 2010 that began to change.  I picked up the Chronicles of Narnia series (which I’m sure I read as a kid), and I’ve been working through them here and there for the last 18 months or so. 

I have found reading fiction to be extremely liberating.  It helps me to decompress.  My new reading habit is to intersperse fiction into my schedule on weeks leading up to Sunday’s where I am not preaching (like this last Sunday).  Reading books that deal with the issues I deal with week after week as a pastor only tends to stress me out when I’m looking for some intellectual down-time. 

My fiction book of the week this last week was the seventh and final book of the Chronicles of Narnia series: The Last Battle.  I loved it.  This is a classic series, and if you haven’t read them or read them to your children, I’d encourage you to do both.  I am going to buy a new set of paperbacks and begin working my way back through the series, specifically highlighting the theological undercurrents Lewis weaves throughout.  The Last Battle was one of the best of the series, a fitting end (or beginning—depending on how you look at it) to the world of Narnia. 

Is this series worth the read?  Well, it was written for children, but it has also been the subject of many a doctoral dissertation.  I don’t know of too many books that can stake that claim.  I don’t have much a review here–just an encouragement to pick up these great books and read them.

 

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Last Battle

  1. Heather Bode says:

    The Bode family loves these books. It all began when Joshua turned 7 and I bought him the Focus on the Family Radio Theater Narnia series so we could listen to them in the car on a trip we were taking. We’ve been hooked ever since. The CD’s make a few departures from the text, but not in a way that takes anything away from the books, and each character is acted out by an actor/actress. For those who don’t have time or the inclination to read, I highly recommend the radio theater version.
    Joshua is now almost 14 and our CD’s are scratchy in places and our paperbacks are well worn and well loved. CS Lewis expresses so many truths from Scripture, which is why I believe the books send such a thrill through us. Nothing can compare to Truth, and Lewis did a masterful job of relating it.

  2. robstroud says:

    Oh, I remember the wonderful day when I graduated from sem and was freed to choose my own reading material. Most of it remains professionally related, of course, but that’s my choice. I agree with you that the Chronicles of Narnia can be a wonderful blessing to both young and old.

Leave a Reply

