The Will of God Between Your Ears

Finding the will of God is kind of like getting rid of the hiccups, no one really knows how, but everyone has a theory that they’ve heard works.  “Stand on your head for two hours while praying Psalm 63 and drinking a glass of water backwards.”  It seems like it should be simpler than that.  Unfortunately, for many Christians determining the will of God is about as arbitrary a venture as getting that bubble out of your throat.  At times you just want to hold your breath and hope everything turns out the way it should. 

I don’t think any Christian is immune to the fear, anxiety, and confusion that comes with trying to discover God’s will.  I’ve been there many times.  As recently as a year ago, during the tenuous days of 2010, I was working overtime to try to figure out what God was calling me to do.  When you’re in that place you’re mind is filled with contingencies, plan A’s and B’s, and a constant aching to just find the right thing and do it. 

If you’re in that spot now, or if you have ever been in that spot, or if you know of someone in that spot, or if you could ever imagine knowing someone in that spot—I’ve got a book for you.  It’s called Just Do Something, and I do not hesitate to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read on the subject of God’s will. 

You can read this book in about an hour and a half.  If you’re a super slow reader, it may take you 2 hours or so, but it’s a quick read.  I really like this author—Kevin DeYoung.  He is a fellow Gordon-Conwell graduate, and a well-known author and pastor from Michigan.  He’s published 5 books, but this is the first one that I’ve read by him.  The subtitle will help explain a little about his perspective on God’s will:

Full title:

Just Do Something: A Liberating Approach to Finding God’s Will OR How to make a decision without dreams, visions, fleeces, impressions, open doors, random Bible verses, casting lots, liver shivers, writing in the sky, etc. 

I could insert several quotes from the book at this point, but I want to highly recommend that you just pick it up (by clicking here) and read it for yourself.  You need to read this book.  It’s not only liberating, but it’s theologically and biblically sound, and it will help you tremendously as you seek God’s will.  And if you’re all set when it comes to God’s will, I highly recommend that you pick it up anyway, because after reading it you can give it to your son, cousin, friend, coworker, or church acquaintance when the time is right.

About Pastor Andrew

Follower of Jesus, Husband to Carissa, Daddy to four daughters, Lead Pastor at LifePoint Church in Vancouver, WA.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Will of God Between Your Ears

  1. Mendi Yoshikawa says:

    This sounds like an awesome book. I had fun reading many of the glowing reviews at Amazon too. I’m so sad because I had literally just placed an Amazon order 5 minutes before opening your email so now I have to wait until I find something else I need to get my free shipping. From the sounds of it though I should just order 5 copies and pass them out to friends and family. 🙂

  2. Sounds good to me. Guess I will try to read it to find out if I am on the right track when it comes to listening to the Lord with this issue. Sometimes it is mind boggling, tho, no matter how old a person is or how long one has been following the Lord. Sometimes another perspective helps the understanding.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

